top of page

EWE Spirit Cup Annapolis

Fourth Annual SCC Spring Race for EWE Spirit – The EWE Spirit Cup 2024

DSC_0192 (1).JPG

Rain and no wind for a regatta? Racing canceled despite the best efforts of the Sailing Club of the Chesapeake Race Committee led by Drew Mutch? Total bummer, right? Nope! The EWE Spirit Cup was still a huge success and a ton of fun to boot. Over 50 racers, 26 fundraising teams and individuals, beer from Forward Brewing, the excellent Picante Food Truck, and a fun stepping out shirts and Vans party at Horn Point Marina made for a ton of fun, and EWE Spirit president, Mary Ewenson, presented Sarah Reilly from the Maryland Food Bank a grant of $10,000 to continue their great work in the community. 

Again this year, Craig Ligibel led the charge with his team Mystic Wind, challenging other fundraisers to try to keep up and rewarding the first team to hit their goal with a bottle of cheer. Mystic Wind topped the team fundraising with a total of $7369 raised, and Geoff’s brother Nick Ewenson rallied support in New England to top the individual fundraising with $6455 to add to the coffers.

New this year, Justin Scott of Noroton Yacht Club rallied the Viper 640 fleet to join the fundraising fun from the Lipton Cup Challenge, and they brought in $4328 for EWE Spirit! Another great addition was the competition between fleets, with the Harbor 20 fleet coming out on top with $2388 raised.

Thanks to the fantastic fundraising efforts and the generosity of sponsors, Annapolis Sailing Fitness, SpinSheet, Safe Harbor Marinas, Forward Brewing, Sandra K Libby Group, Eastport Kitchen, Windward Strategy, Team One Newport, Horn Point Marina, and Picante Annapolis, the event raised $38,122 to help EWE Spirit keep supporting those with urgent and immediate needs in our community. As Geoff would say, “what’s better than that?”


2024 EWE Spirit Cup Fundraisers


Individual Fundraisers

Nick Ewenson

Craig Ligibel

Mark Sweeney

Ashley Love

Jeffrey Seltzer

Lisa Pline

Matt White

Michael Jewell

Sara Morgan Watters

Lipton Challenge Cup Fundraising Teams

Noroton Yacht Club

Eastport Yacht Club – Team Brass Monkey

Beverly Yacht Club

Lake Sunapee Yacht Club

Black Rock Yacht Club

Nepean Sailing Club

Sayville Yacht Club

Nyack Boat Club


Fundraising Teams

Mystic Wind

EWE Spirit Rhode Island

Kobyashi Maru

Team Mirage

Five O’clock

Blinding Fury

Fundraising Fleets

Harbor 20 Fleet 

Melges 15 fleet

Snipe fleet

Thank you to our sponsors:

Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors
Bronze Sponsors
Forward Brewing.jpg
eastport kitchen.png
NOOD 2021 Keyworth SpinSheet (233).jpg
bottom of page